About Us


The annual Hamilton Arts Festival Toi Ora ki Kirikiriroa (formerly Hamilton Gardens Arts Festival) has been the Waikato’s premier arts event for 25 years. Our vibrant outdoor festival showcases an exciting collection of the region’s creative community and a curated selection of national and international touring shows.

With the award-winning Hamilton Gardens as its primary venue, the festival showcases the best of Waikato’s performing artists alongside a curated selection of some of the most compelling shows from across the country and abroad.

In the last three years particularly, the festival has grown into one of national significance; becoming a major contributor to sustaining many artists, arts organisations and local businesses.

Music, theatre, dance, comedy, family events and arts experiences provide opportunities to inspire, and to be inspired, each year.



We have a wonderful team working hard to bring you a fantastic Hamilton Arts Festival in 2023:


Geoff Turkington

Associate Director & Publicist

Nick Walsh

National Publicist

Elisabeth Easther

Production/Technical Management

Gareth Amyes, Chase Ten Hove, Aaron Chesham and the team from ACLX

Audience Experience & Zero Waste Manager

Anita Burton

Economic Benefit Coordinator & Audience Experience Supervisor

Sam Scott

Festival Hub Talent Manager & Social Media Videographer

William Fitzgerald

Production Liaison Officer

Ric Grocott

Marketing & Design

KingSt Advertising

Channel Manager

Xanthe Wainui Mackle

Artists Travel & Accommodation Coordinator

Tash Budd from Admin Collective

Partnerships Lead

Belinda Gelston

Food & Beverage

Kelsie McLellan, Hamish Cameron and the team from Montana Food & Events

Venue Partners

Hamilton Gardens, Clarence St Theatre, Meteor Theatre, Hamilton City


The Hamilton Arts Festival Toi Ora ki Kirikiriroa is delivered by the Hamilton Gardens Summer Festival Foundation, a registered charitable foundation. The Foundation Board includes Chris Williams (Chair), Sandra Braithwaite, Graeme Cairns, Raewyn Sporle, Lucy Ryan, Benny Marama, Graeme Bethune, Kyle Chuen and Marleina Ruka.